List of Governors of Tamil Nadu

28 Jan 2020

List of Governors of Tamil Nadu

Governors of Tamilnadu:

The Governor of state acts as the nominal head, the real power lies with the Chief ministers of the states and his/her councils of the minister. Governor is the constitutional head of the State. The governor is appointed by the president for the term of five years. The first woman governor of Tamilnadu is M. Fathima Beevi (Jan. 1997 till July 2001). Currently, Banwarilal Purohit as Governor of Tamilnadu since October 6, 2017. Tamilnadu was renamed from Madras on 14th January 1969. Following is the list of Governors in Tamilnadu since 1969 below. Check the List of Governors of Tamil Nadu 2019 – 2022 and its term/ during Office.

M. Fathima Beevi, First Women Governor of Tamil Nadu in tenure period 1997 – 2001. Currently, Banwarilal Purohit, Governor of TN in 2022.

Also, see List of Chief Minister of Tamilnadu, click to see – List of Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

Woman Governor of Tamilnadu:

M. Fathima Beevi was the First woman Governor of Tamilnadu. Term of Governor Office from 25 Jan. 1997 till 3 July 2001. Formerly she was Judge at the Supreme Court of India.

List of Governors in Tamilnadu:

Check the table below for the List of Governors of Tamil Nadu:

S.NO Name Term of Governor’s Office Native Previous Post
1. Sardar Ujjal Singh 1969-1971 Governor of Punjab
2. Kodardas Kalidas Shah 1971-1976 Gujarat
3. Mohan Lal Sukhadia 1976-1977 Rajasthan Governor of Andhra Pradesh
4. P. Govindan Nair (acting) 1977
5. Prabhudas Patwari 1977-1980 Gujarat
6. M. M. Ismail (acting) 1980 Tamil Nadu Chief Justice of Madras High Court
7. Sadiq Ali 1980-1982 Rajasthan Governor of Maharashtra
8. Sundar Lal Khurana, IAS (Retd.) 1982-1988 Lieutenant Governor of Delhi, Lieutenant Governor of Pondicherry
9. P. C. Alexander, IAS (Retd.) 1988-1990 Kerala
10. Surjit Singh Barnala 1990-1991 Haryana Chief Minister of Punjab
11. Bhishma Narain Singh 1991-1993 Jharkhand Governor of Assam
12. Marri Chenna Reddy 1993-1996 Andhra Pradesh Governor of  Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan
13 Krishan Kant (additional charge) 1996-1997 Punjab Governor of Andhra Pradesh
14. M. Fathima Beevi 1997-2001 Kerala Judge of the Supreme Court of India
15. C. Rangarajan (additional charge) 2001-2002 Tamil Nadu Governor of the Reserve Bank of India
16. P. S. Ramamohan Rao, IPS (Retd.) 2002-2004 Andhra Pradesh
17. Surjit Singh Barnala 2004-2011 Haryana Governor of Uttarakhand, Andhra Pradesh, and Andaman and Nicobar
18. Konijeti Rosaiah 2011-2016 Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh
19. C. Vidyasagar Rao (additional charge) 2016-2017 Telangana Governor of Maharashtra
20. Banwarilal Purohit 2017 – At Present Rajasthan Governor of Assam

Tamil Nadu Governor 2018, 2020; Tamil Nadu Governor Name in Tamil, Tamil nadu governor list from 1947

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *